Site icon Jackson Madison County Sports Hall of Fame


View Past Recipients

  | 2015  2016 | 2017 | 2018 |  2019 | 2020| 2021| 2022 | 2023

                                     2022 Scholarship Awardees


Campbell Scott of Jackson Christian is the recipient of the Billy and Margie Schrivner Scholarship. He played football and baseball and ran track at JC. He was captain of the football team his senior season and first team all-region and all-academic. Scott played football four years. He had 642 all-purpose yards on offense as a senior, averaging 8.2 yards per carry and scoring eight touchdowns. On defense he had 41 tackles, an interception, a forced fumble and a blocked punt. Scott ranks second in his graduating class. He made a 29 on the ACT and has a 4.5 grade point average. He plans to attend Freed-Hardeman University.


Cole Britton of South Side High School is the recipient of the Ed “Too Tall” Jones Scholarship. Britton lettered in football four years and was team captain as a senior. He was a first team, all-region quarterback last season, completing 108 of 198 passes for 1,450 yards and 11 touchdowns. He added 184 yards on 21 carries. His junior year he passed for 876 yards and eight TDs. He was a State Farm athlete of the month and WNWS athlete of the week. The 6-foot-1, 165-pound Britton signed to play football at William Penn University in Oskaloosa, Iowa. He has a 3.96 grade point average and ranks ninth in a class of 202.


Henry Piercey of University School of Jackson is the recipient of the Morgan Leah McCarty Memorial Scholarship. The 6-foot-2 Piercey played football three seasons as a lineman and is participating in track and field, throwing the shot put and discus. USJ’s guidance department said, “Henry’s contributions to a more positive campus go beyond righting wrongs. He is involved in campus leadership and our theater program. His leadership of our Fellowship of Christian Athletes program has almost quadrupled the membership.” Piercey has a 3.83 grade point average and plans to attend Union University.


Logan Hooper of Jackson Christian is the recipient of the R. Bradley Hancock Award. He ran cross country three years and helped the Eagles advance to the state meet two times. He placed third in the region his sophomore and junior seasons. Hooper was a leader on defense as a four-year starter on Jackson Christian’s soccer team. Hooper has a 3.75 grade point average and plans to attend Harding University.


Jaydin Poe of Jackson Central-Merry Early College High School is the recipient of the Richard Ross Scholarship. Poe played basketball for JCM and made the 14-A all-district, all-district tournament, and all-academic teams. He averaged 14.5 points, 6.4 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.7 steals. He volunteers at RIFA and the School Community Garden. He has a 3.3 grade point average and plans to attend either Tennessee State University or the University of Memphis to study electrical engineering. Coach Rick Rudesill said Poe is “one of the most impressive young men I’ve ever come in contact with.”


Jamarrea Anderson of North Side High School is the recipient of the Sports Orthopedics & Spine Scholar Athlete Award. Anderson has a 4.0 grade point average and ranks first in a senior class of 221. The 6-foot-3, 210-pound lineman played football four years, mainly defensive end and tight end. He was a senior captain and named a TACA first team all-state defensive lineman and the region’s best defensive lineman. He was named an all-state football athlete as a junior. He will receive a full academic scholarship to either Tennessee State University or Harris-Stowe State University in St. Louis, Mo.


Camryn Burkhead of South Side High School is the recipient of the Sports Orthopedics & Spine Athlete Award. Burkhead excelled in the classroom and on the volleyball court, where she played four years for the Lady Hawks. She was voted best teammate this year. She is active in theater and is a key member of the yearbook staff. She has demonstrated strong leadership traits and is in the Beta Club, Pep Club and Anime Club. She has a 4.0 grade point average and is ranked 4th in a class of 202. She plans to attend Union University.


Joshua Giannini of South Side High School is the recipient of the Van and Louise Thompson Scholarship. Giannini is a four-year starter for the Hawks’ baseball team as a catcher and pitcher. He has overcome numerous injuries and was chosen the team’s most valuable player and made all-district and all-tournament. He batted .396 last season with five doubles and 21 RBI. He was 5-1 on the mound with 55 strikeouts and a 1.05 ERA. He excels in the classroom where he ranks second in a class of 202 with a 4.0 grade point average. He is involved in many community service projects and plans to attend Mississippi State University.


Nadiah White of North Side High School is the recipient of the Terry Moore Memorial Scholarship. White played softball four years at North Side.

She has a 3.6 grade point average and ranks 10th in a class of 221. She is secretary of the school’s National Honor Society and a member of Beta Club and the Youth Advisory Council. She will graduate with 12 hours of college credit and plans to attend Tennessee Chattanooga or play softball at Jackson State Community College. The guidance department said White established herself on campus as “kind, respectful, and a leader.”


Audrey Johnson of Madison Academic Magnet High School is the recipient of the Will Pevahouse Memorial Scholarship. Johnson was captain two years for both the cross country team and the track and field team. She specializes in long-distance running and has posted a time of 23:31 in the 5K run. She also competes in the 1600-meter and 3200-meter runs. She has earned a partial scholarship to run cross country at the University of Tennessee Southern in Pulaski. She made a 26 on the ACT and has a 3.28 grade point average.

Exit mobile version